Review: Blue Diamond Artisan Nut-Thins

I signed up to blog for Naturally Savvy, and they sent me Blue Diamond Artisan Nut-Thins to review. Naturally Savvy is a community for information about healthy living and healthy eating for people anywhere in their wellness journey.

These crackers come in three varieties: Flax Seeds, Sesame Seeds, and Multi-Seeds. They are all crisp and have a chip-like crunch. They come in a rectangular shape, perfect for adding your favorite topping, but I suggest eating them out of the box! They are lightly salted to add the perfect balance of salty to crunchy.

Blue Diamond Artisan Nut Crackers

Blue Diamond Artisan Nut Crackers. Top left: Flax. Right: Multi. Bottom: Sesame.

You can smell the rice in each variety, and they all smell a little nutty! I can’t place which nuts the multi-seed smell like because it is a mix, but the flax smells predominately like almond, and the sesame smells like sesame. In terms of taste, rice is predominant in the flax variety, while sesame tastes like sesame, and there isn’t a predominant taste in the multi-seed: first I tasted rice, then the flavor of different seeds filled my mouth.

Blue Diamond Artisan Nut-Thins boast “tasty benefits,” which include 400mg of ALA Omega-3, 130 calories for 13 crackers, and no wheat or gluten. A gluten free diet is pretty popular in Portland right now. I’m not gluten free, but this would be a good crunchy snack for those avoiding gluten. I do take fish oil supplements and I think this is a more delicious and less smelly way to ingest omega-3. (Although I will continue to take my supplements as it was recommended by my doctor.)

Surprisingly my favorite variety was the flax. It has a mild rice taste which I love that’s brought out with the salt. I was expecting to love the sesame as I am a fan of those little seeds, but the flax won me over. My one complaint was that the crackers in the box of multi-seeds were mostly broken into pieces, but not the other two boxes. It probably went through a rough time traveling to my mouth!

I recommend picking up a box of any of these varieties the next time you’re at the store buying crackers. Flax is my favorite, but you might prefer another. Let me know if you’ll be giving these a try in the comments!

Click on the thumbnails for larger pictures:

Note: This was sent to me for review by Naturally Savvy.

Leave a Reply

